Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
       

Citation Guide: Articles-Online Database

A guide to citing your sources

Basic Format p.192-193

Cite articles from online databases and other subscription services just as you would print sources. In addition to this information, provide the title of the database italicized, the medium of publication, and the date of access.

  1. Author's name (for more than one author, see 5.5.4)
  2. Title of the article (in quotation marks)
  3. Name of the periodical (italicized)
  4. Series number or name (if relevant; see 5.4.4)
  5. Volume number (for scholarly journal)
  6. Issue number (if available, for a scholarly journal)
  7. Date of publication (for a scholarly journal, the year; for other periodicals, the day, month, and year, as available)
  8. Inclusive page numbers
  9. Title of the database (italicized)
  10. Medium of publication consulted (Web)
  11. Date of access (day, month, year)

"Disease Threats to the Endangered Iberian Lynx (Lynx Pardinus)." Veterinary Journal 182.1 (2009): 114. Academic OneFile.
   Web. 21 Sept. 2009.

Hübscher, Roland. "Computer-Supported Negotiation of Course Content." Computers & Education 53.3 (2009): 726-732.
   Academic Search Complete. Web. 21 Sept. 2009.

"Pepsi Has New Logo, But at What Cost?" Frozen Food Digest Feb. 2009: 15. LexisNexis Academic. Web. 21 Sept.
   2009.

Einhorn, B. "Coke vs. Pepsi: The Slugfest in China." Business Week 13 July 2009: 70. Business Full Text. Web. 21
   Sept. 2009.

Kabler, Phil. "Lottery Revenues Slip During Economy's Slide." Charleston Gazette  19 Dec. 2008: P1A. NewsBank. Web. 21
   Sept. 2009.

Databases p. 187-89

CQ Researcher

Billitteri, Thomas J. "High-Speed Trains: Does the United States Need Supertrains?"
   CQ Researcher. 19.17 (2009): 397-420. CQ Researcher Online. Web. 5 May 2009.

Opposing Viewpoints (Work in an anthology)

Smith, Wesley J. "The Right to Die Movement Supports Death on Demand." Current Controversies: Suicide. Ed. Paul Connors.
   Detroit: Greenhaven Press, 2007: Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center. Web. 5 May 2009.

Literature Resource Center (Previously published scholarly article in a collection) p.159

Marchand, Ernest. "Poe as Social Critic." American Literature. 6.1 (1934): 28-43. Rpt. in Nineteenth-Century Literature
   Criticism
. Ed. Kathy D. Darrow. Vol. 211. Detroit: Gale, 28-43. Literature Resources from Gale. Web. 21 Sept. 2009.

Business and Company Resource Center (Company history from a directory)

"PepsiCo, Inc." International Directory of Company Histories, Vol. 93. St. James Press, 2008: Business and Company
   Resource Center.
Web. 20 Sept. 2009.

LexisNexis Academic (Company reports)

"PepsiCo, Inc." Hoover's Company Records - In-depth Records. 22 Sept. 2009: LexisNexis Academic. Web. 22 Sept. 2009.

URLs

NOTE: URLs are not required. If you wish to add a static URL, MLA suggests the URL appear in angle brackets after the date of access. Break URLs only after slashes. Ask Librarians about static URLs.

Small, Melvin. "Influencing the Decision Makers: The Vietnam Experience." Journal of Peace Research 24.2 (1987): 185-198.
   JSTOR. Web. 21. Sept. 2009. <http://ezproxy.fairmontstate.edu/login?url=http://www.jstor.org/stable/423456>