Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Current Anarchist Collectives, Journals, & Presses
Based in the San Francisco Bay Area, this anarchist collective has published and distributed a range of current and out-of-print anarchist texts since 1990. In addition to anarchist texts, AK Press also distributes other radical media published by independent presses.
One of the largest and oldest publishers of anarchist material in the world, Freedom Press was founded in 1886 and based in Whiechapel, East London. While representing the mainstream tradition of anarchism, anarcho-communists, this press has published a diverse number of anarchist thinkers throughout history including, but not limited to, Peter Kropotkin, Alexander Berkman, and Gustav Landauer. Today, the Freedom Press is a publisher, bookshop, and news portal.
Institute for Anarchist Studies
A nonprofit foundation based in Washington D.C. which provides grants for the writing & translation of radical texts from around the world. The institute also sponsors the Renewing the Anarchist Tradition conference, providing a scholarly forum in which contributors explore the past, present, & future elements of anarchism. Additionally, the institute publishes the online journal Perspectives on Anarchist Theory.
Anarchist Studies Network
A specialist group within the Political Studies Association of the United Kingdom
Wikipedia Anarchism Portal
This portal is an updated guide to the various branches and concepts in anarchism, and can be useful in locating organizations, schools of thought, and literature.
These websites were originally listed in: College & Research Libraries News - the Association of College & Research Libraries Journal March 2010 volume 71, number 3, pages 156-159, by Joshua Finnell and Jerome Marcantel (original article). Content is used here to provide access to previously published information for educational purposes only.
Constructed by Dan Ward, political science professor at Pitzer College, the Anarchy Archives provide full-text access to the collected works of major anarchists throughout history. In addition, a wide variety of full-text anarchist pamphlets and periodicals from the early 20th century are available for browsing. Though not exhaustive in scope, the Web site also provides links to critical commentary on the anarchist movement.
Library at Nothingness
A new library focusing on collecting works in the fields of social anarchism, poetry, and Situationist-related literature. Content from the journals Potlatch, Internationale Situationniste, and Social Anarchism, as well as individually published works are hosted in this archive.
The Anarchist Library
With the aim of becoming the main digital library for anarchist texts, this collection currently consists of books, articles, stories, and essays. The collection may be keyword searched or browsed by title, topic, or author. New titles are added weekly as the library expands in scope and depth.
International Institute of Social History
Located in Amsterdam, IISH has one of the largest collections of anarchist records & papers from around the world. As part of a wider historical collection, it contains the collected papers of early anarchists. Documenting anarchist movement from around the world, this archive holds papers from the German Radical Movement to Anarcho-syndicalism in Spain. Of particular strength is the multi-genre anarchist squatters collection: flyers, pics, & sound recordings from the 1970s-90s.
New York University's Tamiment Library & Robert F. Wagner Labor Archives
Focusing on 20th-century anarchists, this collection contains the collected works of Murray Bookchin and Alexander Berkman. In addition to collected papers, the archive contains court transcripts and legal documents from the Alexander Berkman trial and oral histories from the American Left.
The Emma Goldman Papers
Affiliated with the University of California-Berkeley, this archive is dedicated to the American anarchist and feminist, Emma Goldman. With an emphasis on education and promotion, the project has produced a microfilm edition of Goldman’s life and work, as well as educational texts for understanding social movements for middle and high school students. Of particular strength in this collection are the digitally reproduced original letters, telegrams, and handbills accessible from the Web site.
The Labadie Collection
Documenting a variety of international and social protests movements through the 19th and 20th century, this archive is built around the personal papers of Charles Joseph Labadie, a prominent anarchist and organizer in the Michigan labor movement of the late 19th century. The entire collection is comprised of more than 100,000 materials consisting of serials, monographs, pamphlets, posters, photographs, and scrapbooks.