Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Eurydice: The Information Network on Education in Europe
An information network developed by the European Commission and member states, Eurydice gathers information and produces reports on education within Europe. This resource provides descriptions of individual countries’ education systems, data on education in Europe, and comparative studies of education in Europe. The user can browse publications by year of publication, title, topic, type, and language. Numerous statistical figures are included within the reports on this site.
National Education Association
Provides both current and projected statistics for public K–12 schools on a local, state, and national level in its annual “Rankings and Estimates: Rankings of the States and Estimates of School Statistics” report. Enrollment, attendance, salaries, per student outlay, and other statistics are provided at a state level. The “Status of the American Public School Teacher” report, published every five years, includes statistics about public school teachers in the United States.
Open Doors Online
Produced by the Institute of International Education, the “Open Doors Report” contains data on both foreign students studying in the United States and U.S. students studying abroad. The “Open Doors Report” has been produced since 1948 and is available online dating back to 2001. The “Open Doors Report” also includes data on U.S. students studying abroad.
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
A federal entity within the Department of Education, NCES is charged by Congress to collect, analyze, & report on statistics describing the condition of education in the United States & other countries. Among the many useful resources, four compilations of statistics are available: The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, Indicators of School Crime & Safety, & Projections of Education Statistics.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention - Mental Health Data and Statistics
Information on access to mental health and mental illness (MH/MI) surveillance data sources is provided on various MH/MI topics. Data sources include the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS), the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), and the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS). Relevant statistics are also presented.
Compiled by the Federal Interagency Forum on Child & Family Statistics, this site serves as a portal to an assortment of data on children & families reported by 22 different government agencies. “America’s Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being” is the annual online publication of the Forum, accessible here. In addition to demographic statistics, data are available on topics such as emotional & behavioral difficulties, health care, family & social environment, etc.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) FastStats: Mental Health
This easy-to-use Web site provides simple access to basic mental health statistics. The More Data section includes statistical surveys and publications like Depression in the United States Household Population; access to the mental health trend tables from Health, United States; and more. Data sets are available for downloading and searching.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH) - Statistics
This resource represents an extensive collection of statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders.
Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA): Data and Publications
The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) is the agency within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services that leads public health efforts to advance the behavioral health of the nation. This site links to public-use data reports (SAMHDA) and various statistical reports.
Global Health Observatory (GHO) - Mental Health
Global and regional reports, country profiles, and data on mental health law, policy, mental health care professionals and resources by country are available.
These websites were originally listed in: College & Research Libraries News - the Association of College & Research Libraries Journal
, January 2010, volume 71, number 1, pages 16-20, written by Monique Andrews, Adis Beesting, Marija Freeland, Wendy Mann, Geoff Morse and Pam Werre. Find the original article online here. Content is used here to provide access to previously published information for educational purposes only.
Demographics and School Populations
NCES: Surveys and Programs
Links to: Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS); School District Demographics System (SDDS); Schools and Staffing Survey (SASS) and more.
State Education Data Profiles
Users may compare up to four states on key educational data, including demographics, finances, enrollment, public libraries, and postsecondary education. The state data profiles generated in the comparison include data on the number of schools, students, teachers, pupil/teacher ratio, revenues, expenditures, and National Assessment of Educational Progress scores.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics (UIS)
Self-described as “the first stop for education data from around the world,” UIS is the premier place to locate international education statistics. The Data Centre includes country comparison tables and supports the functionality to create customized country tables. Key educational demographic data is included in the country tables and in many of the reports and publications available on this site.
U.S. Census Bureau: School Enrollment
This site contains national school enrollment data as collected by the Census Bureau annually in the Current Population Survey (CPS). National school enrollment data includes statistics on school population, race/ethnicity, graduation rates, educational attainment, and college enrollment. Current and historical data are included.
AARP Research Center
Surveys and Statistics includes the results from AARP’s own polls on aging topics and reports compiled from data from national and state agencies making the data available as briefs.
Administration on Aging (AOA)
Using federal statistical sources such as U.S. Bureau of the Census, the National Center on Health Statistics, and the Bureau of Labor Statistics, AOA compiles several “aging statistics.” Included are the Profile of Older Americans, Aging Integrated Database (AGID), Census Data and Population Estimates, Projected Future Growth of Older Population, Minority Aging, and Key Indicators of Well-Being.
Aging Integrated Database (AGID)
Provides tables and geographic characteristics that detail expenditures on services to older Americans as required by the Older Americans Act. Statistical information on caregivers, senior centers, abuse prevention, and more are available.
Provided by a forum of federal agencies, this resource includes the Older Americans report. This report provides the latest data on the 37 key indicators selected by the Forum to portray aspects of the lives of older Americans and their families. It is divided into five subject areas: population, economics, health status, health risks and behaviors, and health care.
Administration for Children and Families
An agency within the Department of Human Services, ACF includes policy and planning links to several statistical reports including statistics on adoption/foster care, Head Start programs, and child abuse.
Sponsored by UNICEF, this site includes basic international statistics on issues such as HIV/AIDS, education levels, and infant mortality. UNICEF’s online publications “The State of the World’s Children” and “Progress for Children” are also available.
Children’s Defense Fund (CDF)
Provides reports, charts, studies, and more in the topic areas of child poverty, child health, and education. Much of the data retrieved is found in the online report from CDF, “The State of America’s Children.”
National Data Archive on Child Abuse and Neglect
Maintained by Cornell University, data archived on child welfare and maltreatment allows for secondary analysis. Nearly all data sets are free.
National Juvenile Court Data Archive
Part of the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, data sets are provided for analysis and include the Census of Juveniles in Residential Placement as well as online publications giving summaries through the Statistical Briefing Book.