Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Fairmont State University Faculty Awards and Grants 2020-2021: Home

Faculty Development Overview

     Comprised of faculty representing each college and school of Fairmont State University, the Faculty Development Committee oversees the distribution of faculty grants and awards. The committee's charge is to publicize and solicit nominations for Faculty Development grants and awards and to select the recipients for final approval by the president of the institution.

     Below are the various teaching awards and the eligibility guidelines.

William A. Boram Award

William A. Boram      This award is named for Professor William A. Boram, a faculty member who served as Vice President of Academic Affairs in the 1970s and who was a fine teacher recognized by his colleagues as an energetic and cheerful supporter of faculty in their work of teaching, scholarship, and service.  The award is intended to recognize and honor outstanding achievements, unusual dedication, or accomplishments in teaching by full-time faculty at Fairmont State University.  The Boram Award carries a monetary honorarium and is the University's most prestigious award for teaching.


Harold & Roselyn Williamson Straight Award

Harold Straight      This award is intended to honor or encourage outstanding, innovative, or otherwise distinctive teaching or scholarship by faculty at Fairmont State University.  The Straight Award was endowed at the Fairmont State Foundation, Inc., through the generosity of David and Carol Straight to honor David's parents who were alumni of Fairmont State Normal Teachers School.  Born in 1909, Harold Straight entered Fairmont Normal School on September 13, 1927 and graduated from Fairmont State College on August 26, 1959 with an A.B. in Education.


Outstanding Adjunct Award

     This award is intended honor excellence in adjunct teaching faculty and to encourage adjunct faculty's continuing efforts to excel.

Faculty Recognition Award

     The Faculty Recognition Award was established by the Faculty Senate to recognize faculty for their achievements as faculty and their outstanding contributions to students, colleagues, the institution, and the community, including creative endeavors, and other notable achievements. Recipients are encouraged to display material connected to their work and accomplishments in a display case in the library. This award is intended to honor excellence in teaching faculty and to encourage continuing efforts to excel.

Award for Excellence in Academic Advising

     The Award for Excellence in Academic Advising was established in the early 1990s when Dr. Robert Dillman, the President of Fairmont State College, began to centralize advising under Dr. Ann V. Shaver.  This award is intended to honor excellence in academic advising. Nominees are selected by the Advising Council.

Faculty Grants Overview

Foundation Fellow Award

     Applicants are encouraged to design activities, projects, or programs which will contribute to their own professional development, benefit their students, and align with the mission of Fairmont State University.

Foundation Grants Program

     Each year the Foundation has funds available for faculty development grant activities. All full-time faculty members are invited to submit proposals for appropriate scholarly projects or activities to the Faculty Development Committee. After consideration, the committee will recommend worthy proposals for final selection.


Please direct any questions about the awards to the Faculty Development Committee Chair, Jason Noland.



Image result for Nominate button image

Please make sure you have reviewed the eligibility, criteria, and deadline below.

Faculty Development Committee

Committee Members (2020-2021):

Chair: Jason Noland, School of Education


Brian Blackwood, Dept of Computer Science & Math


Janet Gilberti, School of Nursing


Joseph Jojo, School of Science and Technology


Sharon Mazure, Interim Library Director

Abby Chapman, Dept of Engineering Tech

Kristi Kiefer, Dept of Health & Human Performance

Ann Shaver, Dept of Behavioral Sciences

Amy Godfrey, School of Business


Ex-Officio: Richard Stephens, Interim Provost